I’ve Got Nothin’ Worth Sellin’

You know that book, right? The one I started this blog for? The genesis of which was supposed to be chronicled here? Yeah, I gutted it.

Well, alright, I didn’t abandon it. I just took it apart, completely and brutally. It wasn’t working, and a serious retooling was needed. Before you start calling me a flighty, non-serious writer, lemme tell ya I’m as frustrated as you, but it needed to be done.

Luckily, most of that was done over the summer, though a lot of work still needs to be done before its finished. Most of what I previewed here is still in, so there’s that. What came about as a result of that retooling is something I think I’ll be really proud of.

So that’s why I haven’t given any updates about Finer Points for a while. Anyway, because I’m a flighty, non-serious writer, I wrote another manuscript while I was busy with that. It’s a bug book, and that’s all I’ll say for now. Take from that what you will. I’ll describe it a little later, I suppose, maybe throw up some excerpts to see what both of you guys think. Brad, of course, can go fuck himself. I don’t care what he thinks.

I call it They Skitter, and that title’s staying, so suck it up. More to come soon.

Anyway, I’ve been thinking about self-printing while I shop both books around. My girl’s got a book on Blurb, which a few people have actually ordered, and she’s been asking me to hand over a book’s worth of my short work over to her to set up there. Mostly she just wants to collect my stuff as a birthday present, but she thinks I should consider keeping it up after she’s done with it.

I’m…half-convinced. I did think up a title I liked for such a collection: Twisted Words. And I’m beating up the first writer I find who’s already used that.

So what do you guys think about that? Again, input from both of you would be helpful, and we’ll just ignore what that douchebag Brad has to say.

New edition of The Midnight Special tonight, because my love for you grows in the waning hours, when I sit beneath the flickering fluorescent light in  my dark, dark kitchen.

– Sean

Leave a comment

Filed under The Book

Leave a Reply

