What the Next Few Days Will Bring

Hey-o! So, #TheHorrorInGreen got pushed back a bit into April, because the hotel I work at was crazy busy the last few days. I would complain, but the functions pay and feed well. Also a leggy number asked me out for a drink during one shindig, and that was nice. The fact that I didn’t pick up on her signal until hours later, when I was already back at home, however…less nice.

Whatever. There’s more to life than sexy times. Like locking myself in my bedroom for days and writing at my laptop. Wait, wait, don’t slit your wrists yet…it’s not social awkwardness that keeps me at my keyboard (not entirely), it’s a new novel I’m working on, which will be…#3 for me, I believe. I’ll post part of it sometime, to see if I can snag a few bits of constructive criticism from someone. But don’t tell Brad about it. Brad can go to hell.

In other news, I’ve completed a werewolf story that I’ve been laboring over for months, struggling to get right. I’ve no idea if I’ve succeeded or not, but the experience was a unique one. Writing it was one of the most miserable exercises I’ve ever undertaken, artistically speaking, but the result was a story that, while it might not impress others much, entertained me more than anything else I’ve written before. Maybe something happened while I worked on it – I just hope that something doesn’t turn out to have been me plateauing. I’ll post it for a few days next week, for anyone interested in werewolves, amateur horror fiction, and/or crushing the dreams of a starving artist with unduly harsh criticism.

Anyway, back to the Twitter serial: #TheHorrorInGreen is a direct attempt to cease the “month-centric” theme I’ve been on. But I’ve also told myself I’m not going to cheat: #TheHorrorInGreen will not serve as two-months’ worth of serial just because of overlap. Keep an eye out two weeks after #TheHorrorInGreen concludes for April’s horrific exercise. And check @TweetTheHorror or #TheHorrorInGreen on Twitter to keep up with the story starting March 30th.

Last thing: I’m going to a local midnight showing of Rob Zombie’s masterpiece “The Devil’s Rejects” tomorrow. I’m excited, in no small part because Bill Moseley and Sid Haig will be in attendance as well. I’ve told myself I have to come up with challenging questions for the two of them, questions that will merit well-reasoned and introspective answers from both actors regarding their experiences with the film. However, the theater serves alcohol, so it’s far more likely I’ll pee on myself, black out, and wake up by the grease pit behind the restaurant next door. Because I’m a sexy boy.

Memories (if any exist) of the experience will be shared, both here and on Twitter, so if the antics of a boring twenty-something is your cup of tea, stay tuned. Fair warning: I am both an American and a Millennial, and as such I believe I’m both more important than I actually am, and I am painfully NOT aware of my own ignorance. Be prepared to roll your eyes at the myriad idiotic things I will inevitably postulate on.

(Postulate. See? There I go already.)

Peace. I’m off to find a Sonny Bono wig.

–          The Awful Writer

Leave a comment

Filed under #TheHorrorInGreen, Ramblings on Horror

Leave a Reply

