Ch-ch-ch-changes

First of, #TheHorrorInGreen plugs along, though at a bit of a haphazard pace. I’m back in my hometown this week, visiting family and old friends, and that tends to be a distracting affair for me. Add in the fact that I’m horrible at time management, and you have a lot of missed dates at bars, errands forgotten on an almost daily basis, and endless hours lost because I find it amusing to play with cats and laser pointers.

But I’ll do my best to continue #TheHorrorInGreen (based on a story I scribbled down in high school, almost literally in the last century). Search for the hashtag to start up from the beginning, though I know that isn’t a 100% foolproof method of keeping up with the tale.

Speaking of that, the exhaustingly industrious Emma Audsley of The Horrifically Horrifying Horror Blog raised the valid point that, coupled with the personal musings I put up on Twitter, following my tweeted serials can be a bit discombobulating. She suggested two separate accounts – one for personal musings, and one for the Twitter serials. This struck me as brilliant, so coming soon, @TweetTheHorror will have a sister feed, @SeanGanus. I’ll be wanting followers, of course, so if you’re Twitter-oriented, I officially grovel with a complete lack of dignity for you to follow me, on both feeds. I’ll try to follow folks back, but I’m a damnably distractible, twentysomething man-child, so it may take me a bit to fulfill my Twitter-y obligations. Forgive me my Millennial tendencies.

@SeanGanus will debut following the conclusion of #TheHorrorInGreen. Until then, I’ll do my best to keep my feed as uncluttered as possible.

I’m also toying with a Facebook companion page for @TweetTheHorror, but no guarantees I’ll follow through on that.

Also, my boy @TweetTheHaunt (who’s naming scheme I totally jacked for myself), is going to start tweeting again soon. Like, FOR REAL, this time, unlike last time where I said he would, only for him to get busted by management. Luckily he was able to hide the feed from his boss (who’s under the impression it’s got a different name anyhow), but he had to go dark for a while to alleviate suspicion that he was using Twitter on the job.

For those who don’t know, @TweetTheHaunt chronicles his “adventures” working the night shift in a Nashville hotel that a lot of folks around town believe is haunted. He can’t say his name or the hotel’s, for fear of getting fired, but he’ll leave little clues occasionally as to which hotel he works in. Funny thing is, the guy doesn’t really believe in ghosts, but he’ll be the first to admit weird shit can go down after dark, and he tweets it pretty much as soon as he experiences it. He’s toying with the idea of a blog, too, so I’ll keep ya posted on that. Give him a follow, if for no other reason than to convince him this is worth it. He’s mostly only doing this because I told him folks would love it.

Annnd should I put up any more original fiction? I’m awfully proud of that werewolf story of mine, though it does deal with excessive violence and the nature of cruelty. For two subjects that unnerve me so much in others’ work, I sure do use them a lot in mine. Whatever. I’ll try to post the story, “Old Teeth,” sometime this Saturday. I’ll keep it up for a week. Please do me the courtesy of remembering that all fiction posted on this blog is my intellectual property, unless otherwise noted. I’m more than okay with links, but I do have the tale under copyright, and I would appreciate it if folks won’t copy and paste my stuff.

Not that I’m calling my fellow bloggers a den of thieves, mind you. On the contrary – bloggers, horror bloggers especially, and writers all tend to be a pretty supportive lot with a strong sense of fair play. I only say the above things as a matter of course. If I put “Old Teeth” up, feel free to link the hell out of it. Leave comments, likes, middle fingers, whatever your heart desires.

But don’t tell Brad. If you tell Brad about this I swear to GOD I’ll tell the whole school you still sleep with a nightlight on.

Cheers all!

 

– The Awful Writer

Leave a comment

Filed under Miscellaneous

Leave a comment